Why Nitish can't vote for Kovind


Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah have cast their votes in the Parliament.

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said Mr Kovind will see a "decisive victory".

In the 2012 elections, Pranab Mukherjee garnered 7,13,763 votes, while Pratibha Patil secured 6,38,116 votes in the previous polls in 2007. The NCP also hints at backing NDA's President pick Ram Nath Kovind.

His appointment as the Governor of Bihar in 2015 was met with fierce opposition from the Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav owing to his past association with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also went to the assembly to exercise their vote in the Presidential election. According to them, Meira believes in an ideology under which everybody should be equal for a president. Speaking to the media, Opposition Presidential candidate Meira Kumar urged all the voters to listen "voice of their conscience".

Meria Kumar

Another Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge appealed all leaders to vote as per their conscience. "But battle must be fought, and fought hard", the senior leader said, further labelling the presidential battle as a "fight against communalism".

The day also witnessed some drammatic developments as crack in the so-called united Opposition came to the fore. Kovind was born on 1 October 1945 in Kanpur Dehat district, Uttar Pradesh. The total number of electors (4120 MLAs and 776 MPs) will be sharing the onus of electing India's next President.

Both Kovind and Kumar held a series of meetings across states to mobilise support for their candidature.

"The elector can have as many preferences as the number of candidates, but the marking of the first preference is compulsory for the ballot to be valid". "Winning or losing is a different issue. And I think it is a good thing for our movement", Ms Mayawati told reporters outside parliament.

Froome remains in yellow jersey and on his toes
Strangely enough, Aru didn't seem to get much help from his team and left on an island, Froome would sail past him to retake the lead and the yellow jersey.